1. Meet SAR
    1. Who We Are
    2. What We Do
    3. Become a Member
    4. Headquarters
    5. FAQ's
    6. News
    7. Events
    8. SAR Stories
    9. SAR Cares
  2. Genealogy
    1. SAR Genealogical Policies and Materials
    2. Genealogical Copy Services
    3. Genealogical Research Services
    4. SAR Genealogy Assistants
    5. Patriot Records Search
    6. Genealogy Seminar - Recruiting & Qualifying
  3. Education
    1. SAR Outreach Education
    2. Youth Contests and Awards
    3. Education Awards
    4. SAR CAAH Resolution
    5. Children of the American Revolution
    6. Youth Exchange
    7. Resources & Downloads
  4. American Revolution
    1. Timeline
  5. Compatriots
    1. SAR Staff
    2. SAR Ladies Auxiliary
    3. SAR Foundation Interpretive Plan
    4. Member Tools
    5. SAR Committees
    6. SAR Magazine
    7. Website Resources
    8. Congress Information
    9. Leadership Information




SAR Youth Contests and Awards

Joseph S. Rumbaugh Historical Oration Contest

The National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution (SAR) invites all high school students (9th through 12th grades) interested in the American Revolution to participate in the Joseph S. Rumbaugh Historical Oration Contest. The contest is open to all students attending home schools, public, parochial, or private high school students in that same grade range. While the preliminary rounds of the contest begin at the local level, students may eventually advance to the state or national levels, eventually held in June during the annual SAR Congress. The National Association of Secondary School Principals has placed this program on the 2017-18 NASSP List of Approved Contests, Programs, and Activities for Students.

Each student’s five- to six-minute speech (and accompanying manuscript) will be judged based upon its composition, delivery, significance, and historical accuracy and relevance. Three cash awards are given: the National First Place Winner receives $5,000; the 2nd Place Runner-up receives $3,000; and the 3rd Place Runner-up receives $2,000 cash prize. Each also receives an Olympic-sized medal. All other finalists (4th through 6th Place runners-up) are awarded $400 and all other national contestants are awarded $200. A complete set of rules, along with the application for both the applicant and the sponsoring SAR members, can be found below. Please be aware that the local application deadline dates may vary, so interested applicants should reach out to their local SAR chapter for further details.

Consolidated SAR Youth Awards Application and Instructions (Applicant Form)

Consolidated SAR Youth Awards Application and Instructions (Sponsoring SAR Form)

Previous Winners

For forty-four years, the National Oration Contest sponsored by the SAR carried the name Douglass G. High. In 1993, the name of this oratorical contest was changed, in perpetuity to the Joseph S. Rumbaugh Historical Oration Contest. The previous annual first place winners are:

YearWinning OratorSponsoring SAR Society
2017Taryn MurphyCalifornia SAR
2016Liam Patrick O'ConnorDelaware SAR
2015Sophia Noelle ZupancOhio SAR
2014Hayley Caroline SnowdenVirginia SAR
2013Luis Edmundo VasquezTexas SAR
2012Phillip Paul CozziIllinois SAR
2011Jackson BloomNorth Carolina SAR
2010Kristin BowersVirginia SAR
2009Philip Bryan HayesTexas SAR
2008Virginia MacfarlanArkansas SAR
2007David AnguishDelaware SAR
2006Edward Seage, Jr.Delaware SAR
2005Terilyn T. ParkerLouisiana SAR
2004Chris HughesMaryland SAR
2003Blake Phyllip SercyeIllinois SAR
2002Gregory Field PriceMaryland SAR
2001Micah Wade KubicMissouri SAR
2000Andrew GreenKentucky SAR
1999Erik W. JorgensenCalifornia SAR
1998Anna Rene SmithArkansas SAR
1997Joshua M. KoenigFlorida SAR
1996John Barry Dunlap IIMaryland SAR
1995Julie M. PaikCalifornia SAR
1994Michael BowlingOklahoma SAR
1993Dennis Purvis IIOhio SAR
1992John C. O’QuinnNorth Carolina SAR
1991Jody CookKentucky SAR
1990Jonathan Chad SaulsFlorida SAR
1989Martin KellyMaryland SAR
1988Kena M. TagueKansas SAR
1987Valie ScottGeorgia SAR
1986Brian NicholsonNorth Carolina SAR
1985Herman Graham IIIOhio SAR
1984David WhitakerKansas SAR
1983Ruth L. ArnetCalifornia SAR
1982De-Wayne LayfieldTexas SAR
1981David T. JohnsonTexas SAR
1980Brian K. StolleyFlorida SAR
1979David DerachIndiana SAR
1978Greg EvansVirginia SAR
1977Tom BishopGeorgia SAR
1976Kelly P. GallagherTexas SAR
1975Mark A. McCordGeorgia SAR
1974Jack O. ThomasOhio SAR
1973Roy HeadrickTennessee SAR
1972Joseph W. McLeanVirginia SAR
1971John R. DavisTexas SAR
1970George A. Ott IIIGeorgia SAR
1969Michael RosenbaumVirginia SAR
1968Timothy GeorgeTennessee SAR
1967Walter GordonGeorgia SAR
1966James A. HaverkampIndiana SAR
1965Robert P. LaceyVirginia SAR
1964Gary Lee ThorneVirginia SAR
1963David TurnerTennessee SAR
1962Ralph MiloneFlorida SAR
1961James LutzOhio SAR
1960Herbert SchwartzIllinois SAR
1959Julien CalvinFlorida SAR
1958Lief LohrbauerFlorida SAR
1957Thomas IngWashington SAR>
1956John WhiteVirginia SAR
1955John HaywoodOhio SAR
1954William P. LynchNew Jersey SAR
1953James MounrieVirginia SAR
1952No Contest HeldNo Contest Held
1951Thomas HamiltonOhio SAR
1950Ronald HergenEmpire State SAR
1949Robert WoodOhio SAR

Meet Our Members

Learn More

Receive Our Newsletter

Our Latest Merchandise

NSSAR Auto Badge

Contact Us

The National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution Headquarters

809 W. Main Street | Louisville, KY 40202

Genealogical Research Library

809 W. Main Street | Louisville, KY 40202

(P) 502-589-1776
(F) 502-589-1671
(E) NSSAR@sar.org


(P) 502-589-1779
(E) merchandise@sar.org

© 2018 Sons of the American Revolution.